Skip to content

RPM repository

December 14, 2009

As a follow up on me getting mad-x available on several platforms (not sure why, I suppose it is the usual obsession when I start on something technological like this), I now made a rpm repository. It is basically just using alien for conversion of the debian packages, followed by this “createrepo .” command available on redhat-like systems. If you want mad-x you can add this file to your /etc/yum.repos.d/ Then, you just update yum (“yum update”) and search for madx (“yum search madx”).

Differng from the debian version, this file does not check for dependencies as far as I am aware (I did a check on Fedora 32bit through VirtualBox), but basically the binary is pretty self-contained. You should install gnuplot for plotting functinality. If anyone feels interested in setting the rpm packages up properly, contact me and I’d be happy to help!

I also made a PKGBUILD of Mad-X for Arch, which you can find in AUR here, and the development version here. The Arch Build System is based on Ports from BSD, the same as MacPorts. What I mean by that is that one could perhaps use this as a basis for getting MadX into an OSX package manager. However, I am afraid MacPorts might be slightly more restrictive about who has access to commit.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

