Skip to content

Ubuntu startup time

October 12, 2009

So, the new (K)Ubuntu is soon released, and one of the new features is the (drastically?) improved boot time which is supposed to be less than 25 sec. For the comparison I timed my old install of Kubuntu on my 5. gen MBP (using rEfit for dual boot with osx).

First it took me about 18 sec just to get into refit to make my choice of operative system. Then another 2min 50sec (!!!) to get to the login screen, followed by about another two minutes before my desktop were properly connected and usable. If they get this down to 25 sec (plus the time it takes to reach refit I suppose), I will be very impressed! I have a feeling that something is wrong with my install though, shouldn’t take this long…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2009 7:44 am

    Nope it definitely shouldnt, my Kubuntu 9.04 takes just 50sec to get a working desktop from grub. But then i run kubuntu on a freedom friendly hardware 😀 (dell xps m1330) .. Nice blog btw

  2. October 12, 2009 7:50 am

    Ey, someone are already reading my blog!:) I know, it is the first and last time I will have a mac, but for now I’m stuck with it… In any case I will consider to do a fresh install when the new Ubuntu is released, so I can try out ext4 and the new grub as well… And get rid of whatever went wrong with this install!

Leave a Reply

